Phil Mickelson a finalist for PGA Tour Player of the Year

The PGA Tour released its nominees for the 2010 PGA Tour Player of the Year award on Tuesday.

Nominees for the Jack Nicklaus Trophy are Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els, Jim Furyk, Dustin Johnson and Matt Kuchar.

Players were nominated by the PGA Tour Player Advisory Council and Player Directors. The awards are determined by a member vote, with PGA Tour members who played in at least 15 official money events in 2010 eligible to vote. The winner will be announced on Sat., Dec. 4.

Player capsules

Phil Mickelson won his 38th career title and fourth major at the Masters Tournament... finished among the top 15 in the FedExCup for the fourth consecutive season... he had five other top 10s, including T4 at the U.S. Open.

Ernie Els was the regular season FedExCup points leader... won the World Golf Championships-CA Championship and the Arnold Palmer Invitational.

Jim Furyk was the FedExCup champion and won three times, including The Tour Championship, the Transitions Championship and the Verizon Heritage... he was second on the official money list and fifth in adjusted scoring average.

Dustin Johnson won the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am and the BMW Championship and posted two top 10s at two majors: T5 at the PGA Championship and T8 at the U.S. Open.

Matt Kuchar won the 2010 money title... he won The Barclays and led the tour with ten top 10s... he was second in final FedExCup standings... earned Vardon Trophy/Byron Nelson Awards for low adjusted scoring average.

Read more: